Chook-like RR’s and the love of old friends and old horses

I have spent the past week and a half checking on a friend’s horse every other day. This 35 year old gelding was bitten by a rattlesnake just before my friend had to leave for South America. This horse has been a friend of mine, too, for 30 years!

Plenty of people are taking care of the horse and the property. My friend’s Vet and her neighbors are checking him, too. This horse is very much loved. For me, the drive to her farm was some striking deja vu! To see Adam in his pasture with his “stovepipe” swollen hindleg was startling, but day by day, the leg has returned to near normal.

I helped train this horse from a youngster. I coached my friend in her Dressage for decades! I feel like they are part of my family. I feel connected to them in ways much deeper than just as their trainer.

charlie

And, true to form for me, I have not written down the expected time of my friend’s return. Crikey, I do this to myself… all too often. But I’m so glad to drive the near 30 miles to check Adam and 30 miles home – playing Fine Young Cannibals in my Ranger and watching the alfalfa drying in fields in long rolled rows. Then I get to see the machines crawling along the fields baling the hay. I get to smell the sweetness and drive under ancient trees whose variegated light and shadow shows make my eyes twitch!

Then, I arrive to the great clouds of mosquitoes! Along the winding dirt road to the farm I see two more old friends! An elderly chestnut gelding and his companion mule… still in their small field… still watching the occasional vehicle slip by followed by a cloud of reddish dust. The farm is only a few hundred meters from the Rio Grande river. The river is actually full right now, churning, muddy, brilliant water moving by from north to south. All of this is a welcome respite. An excuse to be alone and thoughtful and to be a couple of hours in my past, in my heart, in my own presence.

My beautiful picture

The mosquitoes are a bit daunting. I forget about how overwhelming they can be. I have been grateful for my high desert, side of the mountain home for so many reasons and I add one more this week, to the list.

So, the rattlesnake thing is unsettling as well. I have heard of three more horses to be bitten by rattlers in our area over the past few weeks. I took homeopathic rattlesnake nosode to share with my friend and put the rest of my bottle where I could find it quickly!

But we now have a group of young roadrunners at Dharmahorse. They are almost as tame as chooks and follow me around as they grab big beetles and (to my horror) chase young doves and my giant lizards about. I am glad they are here (the Universe provides) because roadrunners kill, eat and chase away rattlesnakes.

My beautiful picture

roadrunner

I worry about my bullsnakes… I worry about the lizards (big as iguanas!) and the young doves and baby bunnies… but I’ve been talking to the roadrunners/chooks asking that they choose their meals from dangerous creatures and that they devour the big beetles filling our trees… they look at me and tilt their heads and the message I get very clearly is that they are doing the best they can… just like I am doing the best I can!

6

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

