Turn and face the strange

I cannot imagine what it must feel like for a horse to change homes. If he has mostly positive drops in his well of experiences, he will expect good things to happen – if his well is full of negative experiences, he will be expecting more of them. But beyond that is the idea of how he must wonder if he will be fed. I think about the horses that come to Dharmahorse and they get over looking worried after a few meals arrive on schedule.

hank and grits

To be totally dependent upon another for all of life’s requirements must be overwhelming. I started thinking about all of this today when I was with my Mom and she quietly said, “I’m feeling a bit hungry” and I rushed to fix her a sandwich. She is so sweet, she would never be demanding (and she should be, she should tell me exactly what she needs, but she drops hints instead).

A horse stands in his new stall or his pen or his field and I know he wonders what his new life holds for him. And I am not anthropomorphizing. I live directly with a herd of horses. Horses are not the simplistic creatures humanity confined them as in the past.

A horse in a new environment deserves compassion and empathy. We must make him feel secure and cherished.

Categories: Horse Training | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

